

The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) Timeline 1923 - 2022

















1923

Alice Paul & Crystal Eastman draft the Equal Rights Amendment: ERA is introduced in Congress and every session thereafter. 1972

1979

1982

1992

2012

2017-2020

2022

ERA is ratified by 35 of the required 38 states. Congress extends the deadline for ERA ratification to 1982. 27th Amendment published in Constitution after 203 year ratification period. 3 State Strategy ensues to reach 38 ERA ratifying states.

Final three states (NV. IL, VA) ratify the ERA. Trump Administration declares these ratifications invalid. Archivist does not certify and publish ERA.

The ERA passes both houses of Congress by 2/3 vote with a 7-year time limit for ratification in its preamble.

Ratification deadline passes with 35 states ratifying. ERA reintroduced in every Congressional session thereafter. Joint resolutions (Speier/Cardin) to remove ERA time limit introduced in each Congressional session moving forward. ERA takes effect (according to Section 3), remains unpublished. Biden urges Congress to remove time limit – resolution passes in House, but not Senate.

